„There is no sun without shadow, and it is essential to know the night.“ -Albert Camus

Something is stirring in the shadows. Something is crawling to the surface: Schattenmann are here! Formed in the dying days of 2016, already now aiming for greater things: This young band from Nuremberg knows exactly what they want and how they are about to achieve it. “Neue Deutsche Härte 2.0”, thus the simple yet effective definition of the monumental sound weaved by vocalist Frank Herzig, guitarist Jan Suk, bass player Luke Shook and drummer Nils Kinzig. They are fed by NDH, by Industrial and by Metal, infected by melodic hooklines rather unusual for this genre and possessed by one burning wish: To exorcise every single one of their inner demons.

Schattenmann stands for the very special parts within us, we prefer to keep hidden. Parts, however, that sometimes want to be unleashed, that are yearning for freedom, that want to be lived out to the fullest. “We sing about things that keep us in suspense”, says front man Frank. “We want to unearth the things hiding deep within us.” On their debut “Licht an”, songs like the explosive “Brennendes Eis”, the highly emotional “Gekentert”, the iconic and anthemic “Licht an” or the provocative “Generation Sex” are displaying the immense potential of a band just about to start. “We’re more than ready to give everything we have for Schattenmann”, a determined Frank Herzig declares – and the past months give proof enough to underline the ambitious vision of this band. Lots of concerts, an exclusive and sold-out tour EP and, of course, their debut “Licht an” are all essential pillars in a career about to take off.

Their first record is a step into a musical world that is at the same time seducing and disturbing. “Schattenmann stand for an enigmatic, inexorable journey between light and darkness”, sums up Frank, whose distinct voice is lending the band its unique character. For many years, Herzig has carried countless musical and lyrical visions, unaware of the fact that this was indeed the seed from which Schattenmann is rising now. Thundering heaviness is being counterbalanced by epic melodies, militantly marching beats change with fierce Thrash drumming, huge walls of guitar blend with orchestral synthies: all a bit unusual, to be sure. But hey, boundaries are there to be overcome. In doing so, Schattenmann have created one of the most exciting and most original NDH debuts of recent years.

Plus, the coming of Schattenmann may be a fateful one, at that: Neue Deutsche Härte is in dire need of new heroes! And if their gigs with Stahlmann or Heldmaschine proved one thing, it’s this: Their spectacular live show heralds the beginning of a new age. They want it, they are hungry for it, they will do everything to pull us to the dark side. And you know what? “Licht an” is full of reasons why we should give in to them without hesitating!







01 Licht an
02 Brennendes Eis
03 Gekentert
04 Zahn der Zeit
05 Amok
06 Generation Sex
07 9mm
08 Krieger des Lichts
09 Trümmer und Staub
10 Schattenmann


11 Bonus: Böser Mann
12 Bonus: Rot
13 Bonus: Gekentert (Unplugged)





  • SCH_LA_P01_small
  • SCH_LA_P02_small
  • SCH_LA_P03_small
  • SCH_LA_P04_small