The punk in their hearts, the folk in their blood and their hearts on their sleeves: Here comes THE WAKES! The boys with a unique style and the matchless voice of singer Paul Sheridan bring in a lively and engaging manner the spirit of Scotland to the people! Punk, Rock, Folk and even Rock’n Roll – you better do not put a label on THE WAKES, because there is no designation that complies with the sextet out of the heart of Glasgow. Actually, it’s hard to classify them, because the six surprise critics as well as their fans over and over again with a sheer infinite range of ideas and new motifs.

All without alienating from their origins: “The fact that we are a Scottish band has influenced our appearance as a band strongly. It does not only influence our makeup but also the way we deal with life”, Paul Sheridan himself says about the musical heritage of Scotland in THE WAKES’ music.

And not only the heritage of Scotland: All of them with Irish roots, the band stands out from standard Folk-bands by using direct and combative lyrics. Along the lines of Irish Folk’s heroes like THE DUBLINERS or THE CORRIES, consciousness of tradition meets ideas given by Punk-idols like THE CLASH and THE POGUES – the Folk’n Roll was born, how the band itself describes its exceptional style.

Venceremos” is the name of their latest work, being released on 23rd of September. A strong statement, like the boys point out in the song that provides the title of the disc: “You can kill the dreamer but the dream never dies”. Like in the albums before they do not mince matters in any of the 13 songs and sing frankly about impressive moments of history, current trouble spots and perennial issue of politics and society. It’s the most diverse album from THE WAKES: Tours through Europe and numerous meetings influenced the sound of “Venceremos” back to a band that ultimately gets rid of any borders genres set.

In view of topics as well as music, Paul and Co look across the borders of their country: In regard of the European refugee crisis the song “No Human Is Illegal” was written – a purist, calm ballad that needs no explanation after listening to the vivid lyrics.

But THE WAKES wouldn’t be THE WAKES, if the boys only played smooth songs: Already the opener “In These Towns” shows in an impressive manner what path the band aims to take in future. Deep guitar-riffs and the joining harmonica strike up to a snappy Offbeat-number that promises wild party nights in the pubs and on tour.





The Wakes - Venceremos


01. Within These Towns
02. Rise
03. No Human Is Illegal
04. Whisky Afternoon
05. Battle Of George Square
06. King's Shilling
07. Erin Go Bragh
08. I Believe
09. Nae Saft Touch
10. Ramblin Man
11. Holy Land
12. Freighter Of The Dead
13. Venceremos


The Wakes - The Red And The Green


01. Colours
02. To Hell Or Calilfornia
03. Men To Be Feared
04. Empire Of Skulls
05. The Brave
06. Peat Bog Soldiers
07. Never Again
08. 8.30 AM Glasgow Cross
09. Until The Last
10. John MacLean March
11. Myth Of Return
12. Pirates Of The League





  • 01_thewakes_logo
  • TheWakes_Band
  • TheWakes_Promo_pic
  • thewakes_01_bennyulmer
  • thewakes_02_bennyulmer
  • thewakes_03_bennyulmer
  • thewakes_04_bennyulmer
  • thewakes_05_bennyulmer
  • thewakes_06_bennyulmer
  • thewakes_07_bennyulmer
  • thewakes_08_bennyulmer
  • thewakes_09_bennyulmer
  • thewakes_10_bennyulmer
  • thewakes_11_bennyulmer
  • thewakes_12_bennyulmer
  • thewakes_13_bennyulmer
  • thewakes_14_bennyulmer
  • thewakes_15_bennyulmer
  • thewakes_16_bennyulmer
  • thewakes_17_bennyulmer
  • thewakes_18_bennyulmer